Carrot and Feta Ravioli

Carrot and Feta raviolis, in rosemary and garlic butter edit

Fresh, home-made pasta is my holy grail. I haven’t made it many times, but it always gives me a sense of achievement, of immense pride. I make it, either when I am particularly happy or well, when my spirit is down. Why I made it last night is personal, but either way it turned out to be awesome.

I used Mario Batali’s fresh pasta recipe from here. It’s a standard pasta dough recipe with eggs and flour, but the ratio works very well for me.  I use my pasta machine (not electrical) to roll out the dough, but I suppose you can use your rolling pin, of course it would take much longer.

My trusty old pasta machine.

For the filling:

Carrot – 3 – 4 (diced into large pieces)
Feta – 100 gms
Fresh rosemary – 1 spring
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Carrot and feta ravioli, up close

Method:

1. In a sheet pan, mix in the olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper with the carrots.
2. Roast the carrots in a 400F oven for about 30 – 35 minutes, till fork tender.
3. Mash the carrots well with a fork (or in a blender, but don’t blend it too fine, then it’s baby food) and mix in the feta well with the carrots.

Filling in the ravioli is fairly simple, more like an industrial production like thing. For me, something like this works very well.

Cook the raviolis in a lot of boiling salted water. It’s done when it floats on top, usually in just a couple of minutes.

Since the filling is packed with flavor, and we want the pasta to shine as well, keep the sauce simple. I just used a bit of olive oil, and butter, with some rosemary as sauce, and topped the warm pasta with parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

